The city of Arequipa was declared a “World Heritage Site” by UNESCO in 2000. It is the capital of the Department of Arequipa, also known as “la Ciudad Blanca” or “White City”, due to its numerous and magnificent constructions, such as temples, convents, mansions, and palaces, built with white volcanic rock (sillar). The city lies in a valley alongside the river Chili and sits at the foothills of the volcano “el Misti” at 5,822 m.a.s.l. (19,101 ft), it is also surrounded by the volcanos, Chachani at 6,075 m.a.s.l. (19,931 ft) and Pichupichu at 5,425 m.a.s.l. (17,798 ft). Due to its location and altitude, Arequipa enjoys a temperate climate with almost 300 days of sun per year.

City Location:

Southern Mountain Range (Sierra), 2,335 m.s.n.m.. (7,660 ft)

Distances to Arequipa:

From Lima 1,020 km (633.8 miles)
From Cuzco 625 km (388 miles)
From Puno: 325 km (201.9 miles)
From Colca Valley 180 km (112 miles)
From Tacna 400 km (248.5 miles)

Population of Arequipa:

864,300 inhabitants